As a mother I have realized that I don’t always notice my children growing when everyone else does; but I do have those days every couple of weeks or so where I pick up Dominic or look over at Ava as her skinny little legs carry her across the field at the playground and they feel heavier or look taller. And it’s always a very distinct feeling, palpable even. I love those days and moments and cherish them. I know that they will never again feel that heavy or look that tall.

And it’s those moments that help me to grow as a mother and remind me why I choose to stay home rather than doing any of the 1,078 other things that I could be doing. Getting to feel and watch these kiddos grow into the man and woman that they were created to be is such a privilege and I want to be as much a part of it as possible.

