In the three years that Matt and I have been a couple, there are only a few times that I can remember when he has completely taken me by surprise. It’s not that he doesn’t try. He does. Partly, he has a (rather enduring, really) tendency to get so excited about the surprises he plans that he winds up alluding to the occasion in so many ways that I can hardly help by deduce exactly what we are going to be doing. But last Saturday, he kept his lips sealed and gave me a very good surprise: HORSES!

My sweet husband saw an ad on TV for “the World Famous Lipizzaner Stallions” and knew immediately that he was going to find a way to get me to see those horses. You see, if there is one thing you need to know to truly appreciate this wonderful surprise, it’s the simple fact that I dream of owning one or two of these amazing animals someday.

They were phenomenal performers and, even though he doesn’t love these animals as much as I, he did appreciate their truly impressive athletic abilities.

and such a wonderful surprise  just in time to celebrate three wonderful years of coupleness (you know, the act of being a couple). Thanks, love, for your thoughtfulness.

