Purify my heart
Let me be as gold and precious silver
Purify my heart
Let me be as gold, pure gold

Refiner’s fire
My heart’s one desire
Is to be holy
Set apart for You, Lord
I choose to be holy
Set apart for You, my Master
Ready to do Your will

Purify my heart
Cleanse me from within
And make me holy
Purify my heart
Cleanse me from my sin
Deep within

These words popped into my head the other day while I was showering. It’s been a trying past couple of weeks – sick baby, rats found in our building, a lost thesis, two backed up showers, a leaking ceiling – and the lyrics from this song brought calm and peace. I knew then that, despite all of the trials, all of this was not without a purpose: holiness, purification, less of me and more of Him. I realized in the shower that, on the interior (and the exterior – just ask my husband), I had been struggling to maintain any level of peace with our state in life: living in a rather run down residence hall and eating pretty nasty cafeteria food (although improvements have been for second semester). But after this song flooded my mind, deep within me, my soul received much consolation and I could only laugh at the fact that we woke up to two backed up showers. I don’t doubt that Matt and I will still have days where we let doubt and resentment creep in because something else goes wrong, but to have, even fleetingly, the reminder that deep within lies a call and purpose – that thought alone brings true peace.

So bring on the broken showers and flooded floors, the Litt’s are here to stay.

